Third Eye Comics knows how to do an anniversary party right! In addition to their annual Free Comic Book Day (FCBD), it was also their 5th anniversary. In true Third Eye fashion, it was a go big or go home event. Steve Anderson, the owner of Third Eye Comics, went above and beyond when it came to planning this event. He went out of his way getting creator guests for signings, in addition to having all his geek bases covered with the Tardis Photobooth and the 501st Legion for photo ops (after all it was also May 4th!).

As this was my very first FCBD, I had no idea what I was in for. King and myself arrived around 4:30pm the afternoon of the 3rd. We had made plans far in advance to camp out the night before. We were among the first 20 people in line, but the honor of being the first in line went to a guy who admitted to “nothing else to do”and started camping out when the store opened at 11am. We were prepared for everything, but the cold. It was a chilly one, which found me curled up in my car most of the time, in an attempt to keep warm. Though cold, the spirit of the Geek was high and everyone was in a good mood. Laughter was heard most of the night. Steve and the Third Eye crew added to the good mood by having raffles and giveaways. King and I won the last two giveaways of the night: a Bizzaro Superman print and something else I can’t recall offhand right now.

We slept in my car for about 4.5 hours. It was not a restful sleep nor was it comfortable, at least not for King. I’m short and was able to curl up without issue in my small Kia Soul.

At sunrise I started donning my costume for the day: Twilight Sparkle from My Little Pony. I spent quite some time in the front seat doing my makeup while others were sleeping, waking, breaking down tents and one poor soul was cleaning up puke in the parking lot directly in front of the store (someone couldn’t handle their drinky-drink the night before…his car was a MESS). Thank gods the bagel shop in the same plaza as Third Eye opened early. I was able to get some hot coffee and use the restroom…while in costume!

Third Eye had a tent set up at the back of their lot, for the creator guests. Since they had so many of them, the tent was a great idea to keep the store open and flowing while letting the customers get facetime with the creators. Who did they have? I’ll tell you: GAIL SIMONE (BATGIRL, SECRET SIX, BIRDS OF PREY)

CULLEN BUNN (DEADPOOL KILLS THE MARVEL UNIVERSE, DEADPOOL KILLUSTRATED, VENOM, SIXTH GUN, HELHEIM)

CHARLES SOULE (SWAMP THING, 27)

JERRY & PENELOPE GAYLORD (FANBOYS VS. ZOMBIES, ADVENTURE TIME, NFL RUSH ZONE)

DUANE SWIERCZYNSKI (BLOODSHOT, HARBINGER WARS, JUDGE DREDD, CABLE, DEADPOOL WADE WILSON’S WAR)

JOSHUA DYSART (HARBINGER, HARBINGER WARS, UNKNOWN SOLDIER, DARK CRYSTAL, VIOLENT MESSIAHS)

JOELLE JONES (HELHEIM, DR HORRIBLE, HOUSE OF NIGHT)

BRYAN TURNER (FANBOYS VS ZOMBIES, NFL RUSH ZONE)

BRIAN HURTT (THE SIXTH GUN)

Not a bad lineup, eh? We were among the first 15 to get into the creator tent. I only had a few that I wanted to get signings by. Gail Simone was my big gun! I was also excited to see Cullen Bunn again, he’s seriously so chill and easy-going! We spent about 45 minutes in the creator tent, then off to the line for the store. About a 90 minute wait to get in then another hour wait to get to the register for our purchases.

The most surreal part of the day was when I was getting stopped and asked for photos because of my costume! I’m not usually much of a people person, but within half an hour of being in costume and walking around, I was smiling and waving to kids who were smiling at me!

Overall, King and I really enjoyed our time together at FCBD. Prince was home with his Nana, who came for a visit so we could do this. we knew he’d never tolerate all the people and waiting so we planned this way in advance.

And now, some photos:

Link and the Dalek

Link and the Dalek

the line before doors open

the line before doors open

Your Future Queen as Twilight Sparkle, with Spike

Your Future Queen as Twilight Sparkle, with Spike

Your Future Queen looking magical

Your Future Queen looking magical

Twilight Sparkle and Ms Marvel

Twilight Sparkle and Ms Marvel

Some of the creators:  Joelle Jones, Brian Hurtt and Cullen Bunn

Some of the creators:
Joelle Jones, Brian Hurtt and Cullen Bunn

Gail Simone and her husband

Gail Simone and her husband

Cullen Bunn and Twilight Sparkle

Cullen Bunn and Twilight Sparkle

the 501st Legion, Twilight Sparkle and King

the 501st Legion, Twilight Sparkle and King

Twilight Sparkle and a Doctor

Twilight Sparkle and a Doctor

The most adorable (and shy) Ewok

The most adorable (and shy) Ewok

Cobra Commander, Twilight Sparkle and Ms Marvel

Cobra Commander, Twilight Sparkle and Ms Marvel

Twilight Sparkle and the Punisher

Twilight Sparkle and the Punisher

Twilight Sparkle saves Tedd E Bear from the Punisher

Twilight Sparkle saves Tedd E Bear from the Punisher

 

